IPL 2024

Three Cricketers to Feature in Both IPL 2008 and IPL 2024 for a Single Franchise

On March 22, an IPL 2024 match between CSK and RCB in Chennai will take place.

The Indian Premier League (IPL), the largest cricket league in the world, is set to begin play on March 22. The match between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) will mark the start of the new season. Ten teams will compete against one another to create some amazing matches in the upcoming edition of the profitable league, which gets underway now. A few new, well-known stars have returned to the IPL in 2024.

On the other hand, a few players have participated in this competition from the start in 2008. Certain athletes, such as Dinesh Karthik and Manish Pandey, have been in the league since the beginning and have represented several teams during their careers. Some of the players who made their 2008 debuts will be returning to the same squad in the Indian Premier League in 2024.

In the 2008 and 2024 Indian Premier Leagues, these three cricket players will represent the same team.

  1. Chennai Super Kings striker MS Dhoni:

The most caps of any player or captain in Indian Premier League history belongs to former captain MS Dhoni. With a purchase price of INR 6 crores from CSK, he was the most expensive player in the 2008 IPL. In the IPL2024, MSD, who is still a member of the current squad, will captain CSK. After leading Chennai to five titles, Dhoni has an amazing record of longevity. However, during the two seasons (2016 and 2017) that CSK was suspended, he was a player for Rising Pune Supergiant.

  1. Royal Challengers Bengaluru, led by Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli is the only player in Indian Premier League history to have played for the same team from 2008 to 2024. When the Bengaluru-based team purchased the Delhi teenager in 2008 for a mere INR 12 lakh, few would have predicted what he would eventually grow into. In the 2024 Indian Premier League, Virat, the most popular and wealthy cricket player of this generation, will play for RCB for the 17th consecutive season.

  1. Rishi Dhawan of the Punjab Kings

Within the Indian domestic scene, Rishi Dhawan is a household name. Dhawan, an all-rounder for Punjab who was born in Mandi, Himachal Pradesh, in February 1990, has been very successful. 2008 saw him make his IPL debut after being selected for INR 80,000 by Kings XI Punjab (now known as Punjab Kings). However, he wasn’t released and didn’t play any games.

The Mumbai Indians purchased him at auction in 2013, marking his league debut. Rishi then participated in three seasons of play for the Punjab Kings between 2014 and 2016. When the team purchased him at the IPL 2022 mega auction, he began his third stint with the Punjab-based team in 2022. Subsequently, he joined the team and will play for them in the 2024 Indian Premier League.