Bangladesh and Sri Lanka Versus Begin a three-Match T20I Series with an Eye toward the 2024 World Cup

With the World Cup approaching, host Bangladesh and Sri Lanka will begin their three-match Twenty20 cricket series on Monday.

“Every game is important because we have eight to eleven matches before the World Cup,” Najmul Hossain Shanto, the captain of Bangladesh, stated. “Momentum is crucial at all times.”

The West Indies and the United States will share co-hosting duties for the June 4–30 T20 World Cup.

Due to an eye issue, Bangladesh’s important all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan will be sidelined for the duration of the series against Sri Lanka. Bangladesh subsequently drew a series in New Zealand after Shakib guided his team to a sweeping of a three-match T20 series against world champion England in 2022. Bangladesh has won all five of the previous bilateral series overall.

Angelo Mathews of Sri Lanka, who became the first batter to be timed out in international cricket during the 50-over World Cup, is playing for the first time against his former team.

According to Chris Silverwood, the coach of Sri Lanka, he just wants to concentrate on the next series.

According to Silverwood, “whatever happened in the past is history, and it’s no longer there.” “A World Cup is being built up to.”

Wanindu Hasaranga, the captain of Sri Lanka, is for the first two games. In his place, Charith Asalanka will guide the team.


04 March – 1st T20I – SICS, Sylhet

06 March – 2nd T20I – SICS, Sylhet

09 March – 3rd T20I – SICS, Sylhet

Bangladesh Squad: Taijul Islam, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Aliss Al Islam, Md Naim Sheikh, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Litton Kumer Das, Soumya Sarkar, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Mahmud Ullah

Sri Lanka Squad: Wanindu Hasaranga (c), Charith Asalanka (vc), Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dasun Shanaka, Maheesh Theekshana, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dilshan Madushanka, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, Akila Dananjaya, Binura Fernando, Kamindu Mendis, Avishka Fernando, Jeffrey Vandersay, and Niroshan Dickwella are among the individuals mentioned.