Cricket Word Cup

Prior to the T20 World Cup in 2024, Team India Travels to New York

In preparation for the T20 World Cup 2024, the first group of Indian players to travel to the United States has arrived in New York to participate in the ICC competition.

The Indian cricket team, led by captain Rohit Sharma, speed demon Jasprit Bumrah, and top-ranked T20I hitter Suryakumar Yadav, departed for the US earlier on Saturday.

A video of the players traveling to the US for the next T20 World Cup was posted on the official social media account of the Board of Control for Cricket in India. The Indian cricket players were seen getting on the team vehicle and departing the New York airport in the footage.

At the brand-new Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York, India’s T20 World Cup campaign gets underway on June 5 against Ireland. The match between Pakistan and India is scheduled for June 9. To complete their Group A matches, they will subsequently play the co-hosts of the tournament, the United States and Canada.

India, who last won the ICC Champions Trophy in 2013, will be looking to end their trophy drought in the competition. After that, India advanced to the 2023 World Cup final for 50 overs, the semifinals in 2015 and 2019, the 2021 and 2023 ICC World Test Championship final, the 2014 T20 World Cup final, and the semifinals in 2016 and 2022, but they were unable to win a significant ICC trophy.

Following their victory in the tournament’s initial edition in South Africa in 2007, India will be looking to win their first T20 World Cup. India fell to England in the semifinals of the most recent tournament, which took place in Australia in 2022, by a margin of 10 wickets.

India Squad: Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Siraj, Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel

Reserves: Avesh Khan, Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, and Khaleel Ahmed.