In the fourth round, Nick Kyrgios defeated Daniil Medvedev in four sets to terminate his attempt to defend his US Open title. In the quarterfinals, Karen Khachanov will play Kyrgios.

In his victory over reigning champion and No. 1 in the world Daniil Medvedev in the US Open 2022 fourth round on Monday in New York, Nick Kyrgios lost a point in an odd way. (Also in Tennis)

The 23rd-seeded Kyrgios won the opening set 7-6 (13-11), but he dropped the second set 3-6. He then slipped at 30-15 in the second game of the third. It prompted Medvedev to check online to see how the Australian maverick was doing.

Then, what happened shortly after confused many. Medvedev was forced to play a volley because a seemingly harmless forehand passing shot from Kyrgios on the move would have found the Russian’s court. Kyrgios, however, decided to swerve around the net and smash it into the court.

Watch it here:


Kyrgios was denied a break point when the chair umpire ruled it to be a foul shot and gave the point to Medvedev. Then, Medvedev held his serve.

The chair umpire was then disagreed with by Kyrgios, who then yelled at his spectator box.
The 27-year-old from Canberra won the match 7-6 (13-11), 3-6, 6-3, 6-2 to advance to his first US Open quarterfinals, where he will face Karen Khachanov, a Russian 27th seed. Despite yet another typical Kyrgios moment, Kyrgios managed to win the match.

As a result, Kyrgios became the first player since 1987 to defeat a world number one twice in the same year. After the defeat, Medvedev will drop from the top rank.
Topics #Daniil Medvedev #Nick Kyrgios #US Open 2022