New Zealand will take motivation from their 1st warm-up against India when they take on Sri Lanka in their opening match of the ICC World Cup 2019 in Cardiff. Sri Lanka, be that as it may, will rely upon the experience of veterans Lasith Malinga and Angelo Mathews alongside the exuberance of the 2 Kusals – Mendis and Perera to have any expectations of stifling their opponents.

The 1996 champions are in dire need of motivation and captain Karunaratne himself needs to inspire the unit. The left-hander, who had scored his maiden test hundred against the Black Caps in 2014, could be the glue that holds the Sri Lankan batting together. He will have the help of Malinga who can instil certainty into the team, both with his bowling and experience.

Recent form:

New Zealand had created a top-class bowling performance against India yet in their next warm-up against West Indies, the Kiwi bowlers were hammered for 421 runs giving them a stern reminder of days to come.

The Emerald Islanders, then again, have had an intense remain in England as they lost both their warm-up matches to South Africa and Australia.

New Zealand vs Sri Lanka Match Prediction:

In the 2015 World Cup edition, the Black Caps had opened their tournament with a rampant 98-run triumph over Sri Lanka and they would once again like to replicate that performance. The Kiwis are absolutely top picks to win the present tie.

New Zealand vs Sri Lanka Probable Playing XIs:

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Mendis (wk), Kusal Perera, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Thisara Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Isuru Udana, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Pradeep

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wk), James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult, Matt Henry

Match details:

New Zealand vs Sri Lanka

When: June 01, 2019

What time: 3.00 PM IST

Where: Cardiff, Wales

Stadium: Sophia Gardens

Sri Lanka won the World Cup in 1996 and also made the finals in 2007 and then four years later in 2011, losing to Australia and India respectively.

Topics #Angelo Mathews #Dimuth Karunaratne #ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 #Kane Williamson #Lasith Malinga #New Zealand vs Sri Lanka