News Sports

National Sports Day 2022; Top 20 Indian Sports Players

Internationally, National Sports Day is observed to honour athletes, traditional sports, sportsmanship, and national sports teams. To learn more about the day, check out this article.

National Sports Day: History and significance

National Sports Day is celebrated in India on August 29, on the birth anniversary of hockey legend, Major Dhyan Chand. The national hockey player, Major Dhyan Chand is the most celebrated Indian hockey player, who won gold medals for India in the Olympics 1928, 1932 and 1936.

The objective of this event is to create awareness about physical activity, overall health and sports. And also, glorifies the support of trainers, families and coaches who create world-class athletes.

National Sports Day: Top 20 Indian Sports Players

Sachin Tendulkar (Cricket): Often being followed as the religion in India, Sachin Tendulkar is the highest-run scorer with 100 International centuries.

Anil Kumble (Cricket): The tall guy from Karnataka, Anil Kumble was the best leg-spinner in 2000s and his record of 619 wickets is still unbroken.

Virat Kohli (Cricket): Virat Kohli is the second-best Indian batsman with many records and is often dubbed the modern-day -Tendulkar.

Neeraj Chopra (Javelin Throw): The 24-year-old Neeraj Chopra won a gold for India in the Tokyo Olympics, which happens once a blue moon.

Mithali Raj (Cricket): Mithali Raj is the highest run scorer in Women’s One Day International cricket.

Jhulan Goswami (Cricket): Jhulan Goswami is the leading wicket-taker in women’s ODI cricket.

PT Usha (Athletics): PT Usha is called the “Queen of Indian track field”, and has won 4 Asian gold medals and 7 Silver medals.

PV Sindhu( Badminton): PV Sindhu is among the best Indian badminton player with many records, including Olympic medals.

Saina Nehwal (Badminton): Saina Nehwal has been India’s flagbearer in Badminton for more than a decade.

Sania Mirza (Lawn Tennis): Sania Mirza was one of the leading women icons in Tennis.

Mary Kom (Boxing): Mary Kom is India’s leading boxer in the women’s category, and has won many medals.

Mirabai Chanu (Weightlifting): Mirabai Chanu is another name that’s making India proud by consistent medal-winning performance.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Cricket): Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the only Indian captain to win all the trophies, and the best-finishing batsman India has ever produced.

Harbhajan Singh (Cricket): Harbhajan Singh is a retired Indian spin bowler who represented India globally with his unique bowling action.

Yuvraj Singh (Cricket): Yuvraj Singh holds a record of hitting six sixes for India in the T20 world cup, and winning man of the tournament in the ODI World Cup 2011.

Baichung Bhutia( Football): Baichung Bhutia was some of India’s renowned faces in Football and captained the Indian football team.

Sunil Chhetri (Football): Sunil Chhetri is India’s leading goal-scorer who even gets compared with Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo for his scoring ability.

Leander Paes (Tennis): Leander Paes is a retired tennis player who has many accolades for India in Tennis.

Mahesh Bhupati (Tennis): Mahesh Bhupati is a former tennis player who was ranked no 1 in men’s doubles along with Leander Paes.

Geeta Phogat (Wrestling): Geeta Phogat is a freestyle wrestler who won the country’s first-ever gold medal in wrestling at the Commonwealth Games in 2010 in Delhi.