IPL 2024

IPL 2024 Final will be held in Chennai on May 26

On May 26, the IPL 2024 title match is scheduled to take place at Chepauk, making Chennai the host city for its first IPL final in a dozen years. Previous IPL finals were held in 2011 and 2012 at the MA Chidambaram Stadium, also known as the Chepauk, home of the reigning IPL champion Chennai Super Kings.

With the first qualifier scheduled for May 21 and the eliminator scheduled for May 22, Ahmedabad will host both qualifiers. Chennai will also host the second qualifier on May 24.

On April 8, CSK and Kolkata Knight Riders will play in Chennai to kick off the second half of the IPL schedule, which consists of 52 games including elimination rounds. It is customary for all playoff games to take place in the evening.

Similar to 2023, the ten teams are split into two groups of five. Playing the remaining team from the other group—selected by a draw—twice, each team gets to play the other four teams in their group twice and the other four teams in the other group once.

With the Gujarat Titans, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bengaluru, and Punjab Kings, CSK is grouped with the 2022 IPL champions. Along with KKR, Royals, Delhi Capitals, Lucknow Super Giants, and Mumbai Indians—five-time IPL champions—make up the second group.

Ten doubleheader days total—two of which happened on the first weekend—will be featured in the 2024 league phase.

A draft schedule of the first 21 matches in the IPL, which runs from March 22 to April 7, was made public by the league on February 22. When the Indian Premier League (IPL) was waiting on the Election Commission of India to release the dates of the nation’s general elections—which have since been made public—a full schedule could not be released. From April 19 to June 1st, there will be seven distinct phases.

In addition to the ten teams’ primary home venues, the tournament will also visit Visakhapatnam, Dharamsala, and Guwahati, where the Delhi Capitals, Punjab Kings, and Rajasthan Royals will each host two games at their respective second home grounds. May 19, Royals vs. KKR, the season’s last league game, will take place in Guwahati.