India versus Australia: One Day Internationals history entices for Virat Kohli and Co

The Men in Blue are only one win away from making history on the world in one-day internationals.

India, who are set to take on Australia in the second ODI in Nagpur on Tuesday, are only one win far from completing 500 victories in one-day internationals. They will end up being the second team to accomplish the accomplishment after the Australians. India have won 499 out of 962 matches, while Australia have won 558 out of 923 matches.

India won their first-ever ODI against East Africa in the 1975 World Cup. They secured that coordinate by 10 wickets.

The Vidarbha Cricket Association’s stadium in Jamtha has turned out to be a super hunting ground for India against Australia as the hosts have risen victorious by an agreeable margin in all the three ODI matches played at the venue.

India first played the Aussies on October 28, 2009, which was co-by chance the first match at the VCA Stadium, arranged on the outskirts of the ‘Orange’ city.

In that game, the hosts rose triumphant by 99 runs and Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the then captain led from the front with his 107-ball 124.

Graciousness Dhoni’s innings, the hosts posted a huge 354 for seven on the board and after that shot out Australia for 255.

India and Australia at that point squared off in the 6th ODI of the series on October 30, 2013 and the hosts pounded them by six wickets after the Aussies had amassed 350 for six.

Then, Australian commander George Bailey (156) and Shane Watson (102) had struck hundreds as the visitors had posted 350 for six in their 50 overs. In any case, Shikhar Dhawan (100) and Virat Kohli (115 not out) helped the hosts to upgrade the target with three balls to save and the current India skipper was adjudged Man of the Match.

The two teams at that point conflicted in the fifth ODI of the series on October 1, 2017, when again the hosts emerged triumphant by seven wickets.

Australia were restricted to a modest 242 for nine and after that aggressive opener Rohit Sharma struck 125 and fellow Mumbaikar Ajinkya Rahane chipped in with a 61-run knock, as India romped home in 42.5 overs.

However, Australia have tasted victory once at this stadium against New Zealand on February 25, 2011, when they won by seven wickets in the Group A match of the World Cup.