Belgian Team’s Captain at EURO 2024 Will Be Kevin De Bruyne, With Thibaut Courtois Left Out

Thibaut Courtois of Belgium and Real Madrid was named captain of the team for the forthcoming EURO 2024, but he was not included in Belgium’s tentative roster.

Undoubtedly, it did not assist that the goalkeeper was not in the good graces of Belgium manager Domenico Tedesco, who announced in early March that Courtois would not be chosen for the Euros despite his best attempts to mend fences with the goalkeeper following a fallout from removing Courtois from the captaincy in 2018.

On other note, though, as anticipated, players like Jeremy Doku and Kevin De Bruyne of Manchester City have automatically found their way into the roster.

However, as soon as he returned, the midfield virtuoso started to shine, helping City win the Premier League for the fourth time in a row with 10 assists in 18 league appearances.

“Belgium, having failed to win any major awards with their own “golden generation,” will be traveling to Germany in the hopes of starting a new chapter under Tedesco, Roberto Martinez’s replacement, and making a run at the top of European football once more.”

As of right now, Belgium has only revealed 25 players for its team, leaving one spot available for young players to compete for.

Belgium will be hoping to improve on their previous two international performances, which included an appalling group stage exit from the 2022 FIFA World Cup and a quarter-final exit from the previous EUROs.


Goalkeepers: Thomas Kaminski (Luton), Koen Casteels (Wolfsburg), and Matz Sels (Nottingham Forest).

Defenders: Axel Witsel (Atletico Madrid), Zeno Debast (Anderlecht), Thomas Meunier (Trabzonspor), Jan Vertonghen (Anderlecht), Wout Faes (Leicester), Timothy Castagne (Fulham), Arthur Theate (Rennes), and Maxim De Cuyper (Club Brugge)

Midfielders: Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Arthur Vermeeren (Atletico Madrid), Amadou Onana (Everton), Youri Tielemans (Aston Villa), Orel Mangala (Lyon), and Aster Vranckx (Wolfsburg).

Forwards: Johan Bakayoko (PSV Eindhoven), Dodi Lukebakio (Sevilla), Yannick Carrasco (Al-Shabab), Lois Openda (Leipzig), Leandro Trossard (Arsenal), Romelu Lukaku (Roma), Charles De Ketelaere (Atalanta), Jeremy Doku (Manchester City),