West Indies Impress Against USA in Barbados to Stay in Semi-Final Race

After defeating the USA by nine wickets in Barbados on Friday, the West Indies maintained their chances of making it to the semi-finals of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

In just 11 overs at Kensington Oval, the USA was defeated for just 128 thanks to the skillful bowling of Roston Chase (3/19) and Andre Russell (3/31). Shai Hope’s undefeated 82* also contributed to the triumph.

In the event that they can defeat South Africa in their final stage match, the victory was the West Indies’ first in the Super Eights phase of the competition and puts them in the running for a spot in the final four.

The USA now has no wins from their first two Super Eight games, meaning that if they hope to sneak into the semifinals, they will need to win their match against England on Sunday.

After being chosen to bat first by West Indies captain Rovman Powell, the USA’s innings never really got off the ground.

The West Indies took wickets at regular intervals to maintain control of the game, while Andries Gous top-scored for the USA with 29. Other contributions came from Nitish Kumar (20), Shadley van Schalkwyk (18), and Milind Kumar (19).

In the lead-up to a brutal match against South Africa on Sunday, Hope guided the West Indies home with eight straight rope clearances, demonstrating his destructive touch with the bat.

In place of Shayan Jahangir and Jessy Singh, the USA made two changes to their starting XI: Milind Kumar and van Schalkwyk were added.

Along with these two (although forced) substitutions, the West Indies also brought in Obed McCoy in place of Romario Shepherd and substituted Brandon King with Hope.

USA (from left to right): Steven Taylor, Aaron Jones (c), Corey Anderson, Milind Kumar, Harmeet Singh, Shadley van Schalkwyk, Nosthush Kenjige, Ali Khan, Saurabh Netravalkar, and Andries Gous (wk).

West Indies: Obed McCoy, Sherfane Rutherford, Andre Russell, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Johnson Charles, Shai Hope, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Roston Chase, and Rovman Powell (c).