Bangladesh has Scheduled a Three-T20I Tour of the USA Prior to the World Cup

Prior to the T20 World Cup in May, Bangladesh will embark on a three-match T20I series tour of the USA. The two teams, who have never faced off in a Twenty20 International match, will use the series as practice for the main event, which the USA and the West Indies will co-host.

In an April five-match Twenty20 International series, the USA will also face Canada. The Houston, Texas-based Prairie View Cricket Complex will serve as the host site for every game.

A series prior to the tournament will help Bangladesh adjust to the conditions. Bangladesh has played two Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) in the USA in their history, both against the West Indies in 2018. The first two games of the campaign, against South Africa and Sri Lanka, are scheduled in Dallas and New York, respectively.

According to Nizam Uddin Chowdhury, CEO of the Bangladesh Cricket Board, “this tour provides the Bangladesh Team with an excellent opportunity to adjust to the conditions ahead of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024.” “We recognise the significance of this preparatory phase and are committed to making the most of this invaluable experience.”

After a lackluster ODI World Cup, Bangladesh, who were eliminated in the group stages of the previous T20 World Cup, will be hoping to perform better.

The tournament’s newest participants, USA and Canada, will begin play on June 2 in Dallas. The five Twenty20 International matches that the United States has played in the past two years have all taken place in July 2022 during the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier. Canada played just one Twenty20 international match last year, which was in the Americas Region Final of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, which they won to advance to the World Cup.

“These matches are essential for our team to establish their working combinations, foster team unity, and perfect strategies ahead of the crucial Men’s T20 World Cup,” stated Mr. Venu Pisike, Chairman of USA Cricket.

Group A of the T20 World Cup consists of Canada, the United States, Ireland, and Pakistan. In Kingstown, the West Indies, Bangladesh, who is in group D, will play the Netherlands and Nepal.