Cricket Word Cup

India Wins The ICC T20 World Cup, And BCCI Announces A ₹125 Crore Prize

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 prize money of INR 125 crore was announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Sunday, June 30. After defeating South Africa in the final by seven runs in Barbados on Saturday, the Indian men’s cricket team put an end to their 11-year quest for the ICC trophy.

In addition to congratulating the victorious team and all of the coaching staff on their amazing success, BCCI Secretary Jay Shah unveiled an INR 125 crore reward.

“I am pleased to announce prize money of INR 125 Crores for Team India for winning the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024,” Jay Shah said. “The team has showcased exceptional talent, determination, and sportsmanship throughout the tournament. Congratulations to all the players, coaches, and support staff for this outstanding achievement.”

Throughout the final game at Kensington Oval, Jay Shah was a noticeable presence. He gave Rohit Sharma the trophy during the award ceremony. With the Asia Cup 2023 championship, two WTC final appearances, and the ODI World Cup 2023, Shah’s tenure as BCCI secretary has paid off for Team India.

In addition to winning the ICC prize money of INR 21.96 crore, Rohit Sharma’s team also took home the prized trophy at Kensington Oval. Following an exciting victory over the valiant Proteas side, senior cricketers Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and Ravindra Jadeja declared their retirement from Twenty20 international cricket. In addition, head coach Rahul Dravid brought his first ICC World Cup championship to the end of his time with the Indian side.

Following a devastating home loss to Australia in the 2023 World Cup, Jay Shah had predicted glory in the 2024 tournament, and the team delivered an undefeated campaign to live up to his expectations.

“Everybody had been waiting for my statement on the World Cup,” Shah said in February 2024. “In 2023, India did not win the World Cup after winning 10 matches straight, but we won hearts. But I want to make a promise that in 2024, under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma, India will win the T20 World Cup in Barbados.”